Goal Planning Monday

Since I can almost never resist a meme or blog party, I want to try out a new one! πŸ™‚ We shall see how it goes!

A facebook friend of mine posted about a meme that’s called Goal Planning Monday. Oh yeah. Right up my alley! πŸ™‚ Since I spent the better part of my night making out my goal list for this week, it works perfect for me to post to this today! Besides, maybe if I share my goals with others in a party, I’ll be more accountable to keep them!

So anyway, although I began this blog with a slightly fatalistic view of it (and have spent a grand total of maybe 15 with it active LOL), I now continue to share my goals for this week with anyone who may stumble across it! πŸ™‚

Goal #1- Getting up earlier than the rest of my family!

With my darling hunny being home these last couple of months, he tends to get up, turn off the alarm, and leave me sleeping. Add that in with the hectic nature of the last couple of months, throw in a sick momma and six sick kiddos, a couple thousand miles on the ol’ Minivan, and you get a momma who sleeps in WAY later than she wants! I like my quiet time in the morning: it centers me, and keeps me sane. So that’s goal #1.

Goal #2- Finish the Sherlock Holmes ‘canon’.

Okay, so I know that may be a silly goal but I discovered that I love the Sherlock Holmes novels! They are somehow enchanting! (Although why a cocaine-addicted, sarcastic, and neurotic hero would ever call to mind the word ‘enchanting’ is beyond me!) I started reading ‘The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes” on a whim a week ago, and have since read “The Hound of Baskervilles”, “The Sign of Four”, “A Study in Scarlett”, and just finished “The Valley of Fear” last night. I started on “The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes” this morning when the thunderstorm woke me up, so by my calculations, that leaves me with “The Memoirs…”, along with “The Casebook of Sherlock Holmes”, the “The Return of Sherlock Holmes”, and “His Last Bow”. I can do it πŸ™‚ (And thank God for free public domain books on Amazon for my Kindle, which include my beloved Mr. Holmes!)

Goal #3-Β  For once, have someone show up to visit while the house is clean!

I promise, I’m not a slob: I just live in a house full of them! (And before you think I’m bad-mouthing my husband or children; he says “As long as I have paths and can’t smell anything terrible, I’m okay!” and the kids tell me “The mess doesn’t bother me, why does it you?” UGH! LOL) So, although they will help, if pressed, the majority of the cleaning falls to me. And one person picking up after 8 doesn’t always work so well. ENTER MY CHECKLISTS. And this week, I intend to complete them, come what may, because it’s probably been months since our almost-constant stream of visitors has walked into my house all sparkly and Lysol-smelling clean. But they will this week. So there. πŸ˜›

Goal #4-Β  Teach Marla not to attack people entering the house.

Marla is our dog. We love her. She’s a poodle/beagle that’s so ugly she’s cute! She’s not even a year old yet, so she’s still got all that puppy enthusiasm. But she’s ANNOYING. She doesn’t have hardly any manners. So SOMEHOW, I want to find time to begin teaching her some.

Goal #5- Some way, somehow, get through all the lessons that I have planned for the kids’ schoolwork this week.

This is liable to be the most difficult because my dad is supposed to be up from Georgia this week, so we’ll probably be more involved (and the children more interested) in visiting than in schoolwork. BUT, since we go through an umbrella school, the end of our school year is rapidly approaching and I’d sure hate to be stuck inside all summer (even if just in the morning or evening… we’re outdoor people and aren’t inside much during the warm months) finishing up this year’s schoolwork instead of enjoying the warmth!Β 

And one more for good measure:

Goal #6- Post to this blog, however short, at least once a day.

Don’t tell anyone, but I actually DO enjoy having a blog. I actually want to be a good blogger for some odd reason, even if part of the reason is that it’s yet another group of people I can prattle on to about whatever strikes my fancy. So I will try to blog faithfully, at least for this week. πŸ˜€


About beyondmartha

Wife to one, mommy to many, daughter, sister, friend, homemaker, daughter to the King. That's me.

Posted on February 28, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Ahhhh, another Mom who dreams of her goals in her sleep πŸ˜‰

    Stopping by from Katrina’s. Hope you have a great week and meet your goals!

  2. Stopping by from Katrina’s meme! Good luck on your goals this week!!

  3. Thanks for stopping by my meme! I also love to get up earlier than the kids but I haven’t done that at all lately. It would be a good thing to get into the practice of doing. I just enjoying having a bit of quiet time after the kids go to be so I stay up too late!.

    I hope you’ll join us again next week!

  4. Thanks for visiting me! I hope your goals went better this week than mine did. Getting sick sure doesn’t help things! I might be back on track this week.

Leave a Reply

