Catching Up

Good Afternoon, lovies!

I’ve been gone far too long, but I’m sure you will understand that life sometimes gets in the way of blogging, since blogging is supposed to be about life (at least my blog is) and without life, there is no blog!

Today, we have my sweet niece, Kelley, staying with us. Her momma called us this morning about 7 because she had to work and didn’t have a single person to watch her… of course, we said ‘Yes!” Who could turn down that adorable baby?

We do not, however, have nearly as many baby-related things as one would think… since my baby is turning 3 this June and has, for about a year, disdained anything “baby-ish”.  Kelley is making due playing with anything and everything she can get her hands on. 🙂

Anyhoo… to catch you up a bit about what’s been going on around here:

We had company for the better part of the last two weeks. Not that I mind, I actually enjoy being able to open my house up to friends and family and absolutely love being able to have a houseful of people enjoying themselves.

We’re also in the middle of Pesach, which probably doesn’t limit our activities quite as much as it should. But, we’re enjoying the festival, and hopefully, before the week is out, I’ll be able to post more about what we’re doing for it. 🙂

We went last weekend and planted some more in the garden. We live in a hillside, but my momma and step-daddy have a nice flat 14 acres, where we’ve moved our garden this year. We’ve gotten our onions, sweet peas, wax and string beans, straight-neck squash, both types of cucumbers (pickling and slicing), and Big Boy tomatoes planted. We’ve got several more things to get in this week or next, but we’re off to a good start! 🙂

(No, she’s not actually driving the tractor, she was ‘driving’ it while Grandpa took a break! lol)

We’ve also already got a bunch of little sprouts going so the kids are thrilled. I’ve been trying to get my flowers planted for this year and have succeeded in planting exactly one bed…. yeah… not too much to brag about there!!

Oh! And the husband in one of our sets of company, friends of my husband’s from high school that recently moved back to Tennessee from Florida, has graciously consented to share his rather extensive knowledge with me…. of playing guitar! So I’m learning… slowly… but learning. (I think I’m doing pretty well considering that I’ve only been playing about a week!) I’ve learned a bunch of chords, and four songs: Last Kiss by Pearl Jam, Free Fallin by Tom Petty, Outside by Staind, and Edelweiss from the Sound of Music. I can play the chords, but the strumming eludes me, for Coal Miner’s Daughter too. 🙂 He even left me an electric guitar to practice on until I can get my own!

So, that’s what I’ve been up to! What about you?

About beyondmartha

Wife to one, mommy to many, daughter, sister, friend, homemaker, daughter to the King. That's me.

Posted on April 20, 2011, in Mothering. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. How fun! I wish I could have a big garden. Hopefully someday! And YAY for learning the guitar!

Leave a Reply

