Getting Ready for Easter- Desi Style ;-)

Bon après-midi! J’espère que cette journée vous traite bien!

For me… not so bad. 🙂 I woke this morning with a migraine looming somewhere behind my eyelids and almost resigned myself to spending the day cooped up in the house with every light off… but as life would have it, I’ve been able to get up and accomplish a few things this beautiful Spring day.

First and foremost on my mind has been the thought that this Sunday is Easter! Yea! Easter, as a mom of many, is both exhausting and invigorating. We usually forgo church services for the opportunity to be out in God’s world to celebrate the Risen Savior. But more than a theological debate, I wanted to chat about the Easter preparations over taking my house!

Each of the children have spent the last two days helping to scrub their bedrooms and the living areas of the house. We have already done our ‘Spring Cleaning’ but we like to have all the clutter cleared out before Easter weekend, so … that means hard work for a few days! BUT since most of our cabinets are sealed off right now for Passover, it’s not as hard as it would seem. 🙂

In the kitchen, we have about 10 dozen eggs sitting in various stages of ‘readiness’. (The time I read that hard boiled eggs keep in the refrigerator for a week was one of the most exciting moments of literary enlightening- no more staying up until 3AM dyeing Easter eggs… LOL).

We’re dyeing our eggs naturally this year; it’s just plain fun! You take normal every day things and then within a few steps, you have a bunch of beautiful surprises waiting for you! What’s more awesome than that?!?

This year, I am using just stuff I have around the house, and we went flower and leaf picking for the decorations. My dyes are cranberries (for pink), turmeric (for gold), Paprika (orange). Plus I have some Red Zinger Tea that I am going to attempt to make a purple out of. I wish that I had cabbage to get a good blue, but I’m not making a special trip to the supermarket for cabbage. I may (or may not) try to use a can of spinach to get a green, but I’m not positive that the canned will work as well as the fresh… so that’s still up in the air also. The process I’ve developed takes a couple of days to do properly, so I’ll be finishing up about Saturday evening.

Amidst the chaos of 10 dozen eggs, tons of fresh cuttings, and half finished egg dyes, there’s also a spread of quilt squares and fabrics in various stages of sewn together-ness. (is that a word? It must be…lol) Somehow, I’d forgotten how close Easter actually was, and so I am WAY behind on making the girl’s Easter Dresses. Once I get them finished, I’ll will, of course, post pictures so you can admire (or laugh at… whichever suits) my creations.

And now, because I intend to restore some order at an early enough time to be able to practice my guitar (I haven’t been able to in *GASP* two days!), I’d better get my bum up off of the computer and back to work!

Jusqu’à la prochaine fois!

About beyondmartha

Wife to one, mommy to many, daughter, sister, friend, homemaker, daughter to the King. That's me.

Posted on April 21, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Sounds fun! I can’t wait to see the pics!

Leave a Reply

