My Homeschool Mother’s Journal #2

The Homeschool Mother's Journal
.In my life this week…

It seems like we’ve been running in five hundred directions all week. And yes, I’ll admit it… I’ve had a couple of meltdowns where I’ve just had to leave the kids with the hunny and take a walk for some peace and quiet.

In our homeschool this week…

We’re almost finished with this year’s work! YEA! So… since I am planning on schooling through the summer, I’ve been searching out curriculum and making plans for our next year, which technically doesn’t start until July 1st (because of the umbrella school) but we are going to start sometime around the middle of May or first of June.

Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…

We’ve been to Shiloh (a creek) three times this week. The water is cold, the mud is thick, but the kids are enchanted! We’ve also been to Nashville, which is always fun!

My favorite thing this week was…

Okay, I know this is going to sound lame, but I found a free Spelling program with spelling RULES instead of just lists! Heck yeah! “Go Momma, It’s your birthday! Woot-woot!”

(And as sad as it sounds, I was actually doing the head bobbing thing while typing that… hehe- forgive me!)

What’s working/not working for us…

ha! Making the kids get up BEFORE 8am…. the horror! (But it’s a good thing for me!) I’ve heard several times this week “But MOOOOMMMMM….. we hooooomeschoooool! I dont waaannnnnaaa wake up before the bus goes byyyy!” again…insert evil cackle here!

Homeschool questions/thoughts I have…

I’m really interested in the whole scheduling thing still. How do you schedule school work, house work, cooking, errands, etc, etc and still get ANYTHING accomplished?!? What works, doesn’t work, helps and doesn’t help?

A photo, video, link, or quote to share…

I want to share all the great, free curriculum I’ve been hunting up, but I’d rather share a picture of my darling little girl at Shiloh!

About beyondmartha

Wife to one, mommy to many, daughter, sister, friend, homemaker, daughter to the King. That's me.

Posted on April 29, 2011, in Homeschooling, Mothering. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. LOVE the photo!!!!

    I wish it were warm enough here to be going to creeks! 🙂

  2. Nice to meet you! Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on my site. Yes, I have tried workboxes but I found that I was spending so much time the night before preparing them. I have heard other mothers use folders like workboxes…I agree, it is wonderful for the kids to have all the work laid out before them. I may try to create my own version. I’m hoping that I have my act together so the fall schedule will be flawless! Please let me know what spelling program you found – there are free lists on http://www.superteacherworksheets.com, but I don’t believe the rules are included. I’m on the fence about a spelling curriculum. I have All About Spelling but haven’t used it consistently. I look forward to gettting to know you! Carrie

  3. I’m pretty sure that photo made me gasp it’s so adorable!

    I’ll be sure to let you know if I find anything that works with the writing thing. And here I was convincing myself it was just a boy issue. Oh well…

    …danielle

  4. Thanks for stopping by and commenting on my blog! I WISH I had to wake my kids up! I have trouble getting mine to sleep until 6 (I would prefer 6:30 or 7)! The photo of your daughter is beautiful! I would also love to know about the spelling site you found. Have a great week!

  5. Oh what a gorgeous picture and little girl!!! And I am still laughing at you go mama it’s your bd head bob!! I can see it so clearly! And thing is – I just did it too,lol!

  6. Any week spent out of doors is a great one indeed!

    As a single mom, home-educating four while working at home, having and following a schedule is a must! It’s the only way anything gets done. I start with what we MUST do and plug in what we WANT to do, where there’s room. I admit, we MUST school year-round to have room for fun and friends, but we’re not complaining…yet.

    Have another great week!

  7. For our family, we work best in the morning. We start work at 6:30 am but my daughter is in sixth grade and has grown accustomed to it. It is wonderful to finish early on some days. My four year older gets up around 7:00 or 7:30. The time to get your kids used to it is while they are young (not too young). Our rule is we must complete four subjects before lunch – which comes at 11:30. If you need help with writing – see my site at http://www.nucleusoflife.com.

Leave a Reply

