Unimaginative Title because I’m Tired- Day 2 of 31 Days to Clean

Okay, so today is Day 2 of the 31 Days to Clean Homemaker’s Challenge and I’m way late in the day to be posting and finishing out my challenges, but today’s been super busy.

My girls’ best friend’s parents had a family emergency last night and called us up to watch the children while they handled it, so we had nine, bouncy little children under the age of 7 bong-ing off the walls inside today because it was so muddy outside. (Which the children just don’t understand since the sun was shining and the sky was clear… they don’t get the whole ‘over-saturated water table + living on a mountain made of rock means mud, mud, and more mud!) 

My Regan and her 'Bestest Friend EVER' Gabriell who got to spend almost TWO whole days with her!

But we survived the chaos with minimal casualties. (Although the house wasn’t quite so lucky)  🙂

Then after they finally got to go home to (hopefully!) a peaceful night’s rest, my darling realized he had lost his glasses, which he is supposed to wear all the time but doesn’t because he says they ‘bug’ him. So we had to search the entire house for them. And we finally found them. But they were bent. So we took forever easing them back into shape because he was getting a headache from not wearing them. But we found them and fixed them and he’s back to his normal nightly routine (aka. surfing Netflix for a good movie to watch before we go to bed!)

My Darling with glasses: Don't they make him just dashing? (No, I'm not biased at all! 🙂 )

But I didn’t get around to even reading today’s chapter until about an hour ago. (I think I’m going to start thoroughly previewing each chapter the night before so that I don’t end up trying to complete them in the middle of the night again!) 

 Today’s Mary Challenge kind of threw me for a loop. I didn’t quite get what it meant by ‘look for ways to bring life to your home’ but I sat and did some reflection and this is what I’ve come up with:

I have this thing about ‘dead air’. Dead air is whenever a house (or any place) without proper ventilation, or is completely blocked off from the outdoors, sunlight, or fresh air. I can’t stand it… I can’t breathe! So, in my quest to vanquish the dead air from my home, maybe that’s one of the ways to bring life into the house!

 Another thing is hurting people carelessly. It breaks my heart to see that spark die out in a child’s eyes because of a careless remark, or a woman wilt because her husband criticized her unnecessarily or a man crumble because his wife emasculated him in public. I think that may be another way to bring life into my home: to be on guard for those moments when I might cause that spark to vanish out of my children’s or my husband’s eyes because of something I say or do, even if… no especially if it’s unintentional. 

And my final bit for the night is about decorating because that was one of the things that threw me off when I first read today’s reading. I want to be intentional about decorating with my homemaking goals in mind. I remember one time walking into a family’s home and thinking about it after the fact, it was probably a little bit messy. But it didn’t feel that way. It was full of pictures, scrapbooks, and mementos from the great times the family had together. The walls were full of books, and every piece of furniture invited you to sit down and stay awhile. I felt welcome the minute I walked in, and felt comfortable surrounded by that big pretty house that witnessed so much love and happiness. And I couldn’t tell you now what decor was, or how nice the furniture was… it was just awesome. I think I can bring life into my house by purposefully creating that spirit in my own house. 

Oh and I did clean my refrigerator out.

At 10:00pm.

And realized how badly I need to go grocery shopping.

Grrr.

That’ll have to keep, because I’m off to watch a movie with the hubby and sleep!

‘Night!

P.S. I had to share my happiness for my sweet Sis Sarah! Her husband is coming home tomorrow from his deployment overseas! I love you girl! And I’m so happy for you!!! Be safe as you travel to bring him home!!

About beyondmartha

Wife to one, mommy to many, daughter, sister, friend, homemaker, daughter to the King. That's me.

Posted on May 4, 2011, in Mothering. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

