My Homeschooling Mother’s Journal #3

.In my life this week…

Well, first of all, I already mentioned our ‘family’ grew by five people this week. And honestly, thank goodness because the extra hands help a ton when you are getting chased through the house by a big black spider (like I just was) or when you discover a family of possums living under your front porch (like we did earlier). 🙂

My step-brother is getting married in July and asked me to plan his wedding since I have a little experience at it. After I agreed, the budget got smaller and smaller, because of this and that, so in our efforts to save money, I’m putting my 20 years of sewing/crafting experience (I started sewing when I was my girls’ age) into use to make as much of the necessaries as possible. I’m so excited to get started on her gown- FINALLY! Two months is going to be a rush job for three gowns, but I think we can make it!

We got to take a trip today to Rivergate and go shopping! Okay, not the dress itself, but the material to make it. We found ivory and lilac satin on sale at Hobby Lobby for $2.99 a yard! Oh happy dance! So we got to buy the material for the girls’ flower girl dresses as well!

In our homeschool this week…

I made a very pleasant discovery… We have officially completed both our Tennessee required 180 days for the 2010-2011 school year AND all of our Kindergarten and 1st grade curriculum (except math)! This is the second year that we’ve been left with only math to do… I don’t quite understand it but my mom says it’s because none of us like math very much so we don’t get lose ourselves in it and forget that we’re actually working. Ahhh well… I’m glad!

Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…

No trips to Shiloh this week. Bummer. But we did go up and work on the garden, which the kids thought was brilliant because all their veggies are growing so much with all this rain!

My favorite thing this week was…

Humm… I’ve had a pretty good week altogether. So my favorite thing(s) were pretty mundane.  (It’s funny how that works, isn’t it?) Watching my 2yo playing baseball with his Grandpa. Snuggling up reading every single book on his bookshelf to my one of my 3yo (who’s turning 4 on Monday!) because he learned what the word ‘and’ looks like and keeps wanting to read it over and over and over again during the stories. Chit-chatting with my 5yo daughter in sign language. Watching the feeling of accomplishment bloom over my 5yo son’s face when he comes back from cutting me 15 saplings for bean stakes all by himself.

What’s working/not working for us…

The earlier mornings are doing wonders around here. I mean “Oh-my-gosh” wonders. I’ve gone to bed every single night this week to a clean house AND woke up to one too. Amazing. Simply amazing!

🙂

Homeschool questions/thoughts I have…

I love feeling accomplished! Wrapping everything up and getting ready for the summer is an awesome experience, especially when I was so stressed about it last year!

A photo, video, link, or quote to share…

I really wanted to share a picture from the garden but apparently, my firewall ate them… don’t ask me!! It’s what the error message said!
So here is the spelling curriculum I want to try out over the summer, Spell by Color. I’ve been reading around and from the people I’ve found that used it, it’s gotten rave reviews but it’s still a work in progress so… If you check it out, let me know what you think!!
About beyondmartha

Wife to one, mommy to many, daughter, sister, friend, homemaker, daughter to the King. That's me.

Posted on May 7, 2011, in Homeschooling, Mothering. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Sounds like a good week – some of the best “favorite things” are the everyday pleasures of home and family. Happy 4th birthday to your little one!

Leave a Reply

