Homeschooling Mother’s Journal #6

The Homeschool Mother's Journal

In my life this week…

It’s Friday! I’ve missed the last couple of weeks of HMJ, and I’m loving the new prompts and the new graphic! I don’t have the time to answer all of them, but I’ll get to a few!

Ok, onto the meat of my HMJ-#6:

This week has FLOWN by. The wedding I’m planning for my soon to be sister-in-law and step-brother is one week away and the bride is in frantic mode- and I don’t think anyone’s trying to help her out much. She’s coming over tomorrow for her dress fitting, and then we’ll get her finished up and (hopefully) have her relax for the rest of the week.

 

In our homeschool this week…

My kids are begging me to start school back! Isn’t that awesome?!? So, I’ve been hard at work, when I have a few minutes, throwing together their first semester for 1st & 2nd grades and they actually got to do their first few days this week, and they’re thrilled!

Helpful homeschooling tips or advice to share…

I’m loving our Assignment Binders! I’ve read about them all over everywhere, but I don’t know if I do them exactly like everyone else does. Each child has a binder, with dividers for each of their subjects. Then, I’ve put a week’s worth of assignments into each divider and hand the binders over! My kids are still little, so I’m still working through most of the subjects with them (like, almost completely) but, they are trying to be independent, and the Assignment Binders make it easy for them !

I am inspired by…

This week, I’ve been spending quite a bit of my ‘surfing’ time surfing over at Raising Arrows! If you’ve never visited, you must! Amy is so inspirational and helpful, especially when doubts about homeschooling start creeping up!

Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…

My sweetie-pie niece, Kelley Bell spent the night with us last night!

Isn’t she adorable?!?

Her poor momma broke her foot almost two weeks ago and so I went and stole the baby last night so she and her husband could get some much needed sleep. 🙂

Oh, and the guy from the phone company stopped by.

It’s been pretty quiet around here lately- LOL

Things I’m working on…

This one is kind of a duh. I’m making a wedding dress right now. I modified version of Simplicity  # 3878 out of ivory and lavender satin.

I’m reading…

Mother Earth, Father Sky by Sue Harrison. I am a sucker for prehistorical novels… stems from spending my entire life with the desire to be an archaeologist. LOL. It’s a good read, but I disagree with the premise of even comparing it to the Earth’s Children novels like the critics are seemingly determined to do. The writing style is different, the method, the premise… everything is different. It’s a wonderful novel (and series), and an enjoyable read, but it’s no where near the quality of the Earth’s Children novels. (It would be like comparing an abridged version of Treasure Island with the original Robinson Crusoe… it’s just not fair!)

I’m cooking…

I wish I had something intelligent to post here, because I love to cook, but I think my entire week’s cooking can be summed up in one, little status update:

I don’t think we’ve eaten supper before 9pm all week… even if I try to get it started about 4… *sigh*

I’m grateful for…

Lunch today! I got to eat out with my sister-in-law and bff, B (also Kelley’s mom- lol). I took her to get an x-ray on her foot and run a couple of errands and we got to stop and eat at Subway. We used to go out at least once or twice a month and then visit almost every week, but with life, being broke, and everything else, we’ve not been able to do so lately. Eating good food, with good company, and not having to worry about kids sticking olives in their ears (SO don’t ask…lol!) was something that did me a world of good, especially with this past chaotic week!

I’m praying for…

My husband to find a job! It’s bad enough that he’s started going to the dollar stores and gas stations to find work to get us through until he can find a job that he’s trained for. He’ll (hopefully) have to be able to get two jobs, to be able to make more than the light/water/mortgage payment…

That’s it for me tonight! See ya next week! 

About beyondmartha

Wife to one, mommy to many, daughter, sister, friend, homemaker, daughter to the King. That's me.

Posted on June 24, 2011, in Homeschooling, Mothering, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wow! How awesome that your kids are ready for school again! Did you take a summer vacation? We’ve been off since early May, but MY kids are interested in getting back to the books and our school schedule! Perhaps because they’re older? (At least 2 of them.) They’re wanting to swim at the lake, get together with friends, sleep in late, watch movies, and play video games! LOL I still need to order some of our curriculum! LOL We start back up September 1st. Stopping by from THMJ!

  2. Wow. That’s impressive that they want to start back early!! The more I read, the more I am open to homeschooling my kids. Keep it up sis! Love you!

    Also praying for Josh to find a GOOD job!

Leave a Reply

