A Blog About a Blog, Part 1

I always dreamed of being able to reach someone with my writing, if only on a blog.

A few years back, I had a pretty popular blog on Multiply, where each and every one of my posts illicited dozens of responses mere moments after they were posted, and I averaged about 100 ‘lurkers’ for every comment.

I thought I was something…

Then I had the fortune (misfortune?) to run across one of now-all-time-favorite blogs, Raising Olives, and thought- “Hey, I could do that!” At the time, she had a cute little blog roll on the side bar and I dreamed of getting my name listed under her favorites. The problem with blogging on Multiply is that it’s kind of like blogging on Myspace… you can get a lot of readers, but you’re not really ever gonna go anywhere with it, you won’t show up on search engines, your readers are pretty much limited to the users of those particular sites.

But, my adventures of blogging on my now closed Blogger and WordPress have yet to see anywhere near the popularity of my earlier blogging ‘success’.

And I’m okay with that.

Really.

Besides, I know the reason: I break all the rules.

And I kind of like it that way…

This post ended up being WAY too long for a single installment, so I’m breaking it up into several posts! Check it out as I continue in A Blog About a Blogs, Part 2

But tell me, what was your dreams and goals when you first set up your blog?

About beyondmartha

Wife to one, mommy to many, daughter, sister, friend, homemaker, daughter to the King. That's me.

Posted on July 27, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

