Hi Mamas of Boys!

(I am totally zapped for creative blog titles at the moment, but have been eagerly awaiting this hop, so I’m not gonna miss it on account of my lack of creativity! LOL) 

Hola to all you other moms of boys out there! I’m so excited to get to visit some great blogs during this week at The First Annual Boy Mom Blog Hop, and if you’re NOT from there, AND a mom of boys, you should definitely hop (clever, right?) on over and join up!

Sooo… I am Desi. (You couldn’t have guessed by the name of the blog, huh? Forgive me… it’s almost midnight and I’ve been up since 5am so my sense of humor is a little off, but then again, it usually is...) and I blog right here with my thoughts, observations, ideas, etc that come from being a mom of six little ones (with a total of a 4 year age span, my oldest is 7 and my youngest is 3) and being able to maintain my sanity, so far, while raising and homeschooling them. So, Days with Desi is really a big melting pot for the craziness that is my life. 🙂

As far as the ‘about me’ goes… I’m not so good with those. I like any bright color mixed with brown (and I like it before it was cool… so there 😛 LOL), digging in the dirt for more than planting flowers, playing guitar, reading books, sewing… well, in general, making stuff, and planning and organizing everything (which is good because with eight people in and out of stuff, it doesn’t stay organized for very long!). I’m a bit of an insomniac, love fall (the brown, ya know 🙂 ), and naturally speak a lot more quietly than most people’s ears pick up so I end up feeling like I’m yelling all the time to get to an acceptable volume for conversation. (That was just a random fact because it’s so late…)

I happen to be a mommy to four little boys, whom I affectionately call ‘my little monkeys’ because they all seem to be happier swinging from the rafters than walking around like normal, calm kids. 🙂

My oldest is Forrest, and he’s 5. He is older than his twin sister by a whole 42 minutes! He’s playing football for the first time this upcoming season, so we’re all really excited for that! His favorite book is still a read-aloud for him, The Hobbit by Tolkien. (Which they list as a higher grade level, but as a read-aloud, it’s great for kids around his age because it’s so imaginative!) 

Forrest is the ninja in front... his little brother Jude is the...something... in the background LOL

My second and third boys are Elijah and Gabriel. They are four years old twins, and Elijah beat Gabriel being born by only 4 minutes. Elijah is the dark haired one, and Gabriel is the blonde one. Elijah loves to play baseball and ride his bicycle and Gabriel loves trucks and loves playing football with his older brother and dad. Elijah’s favorite books are tied between Grandfather Buffalo by Jim Arnosky and The Treasury of Peter Rabbit by Beatrix Potter. Gabriel’s favorites are Treasure Island by Stevenson and How I became a Pirate by Melinda Long. Both are great for kids their age, and older ones too! I never had a problem reading them Treasure Island (the unabridged version) because it was first read to me… welll way back before I can remember so it just seemed like a natural thing to read to my babies as well. 🙂

My fourth little monkey.… errr son, is Jude. Jude is three years old and a spitfire if I ever saw one! His favorite book is Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak.

Even though it’s exhausting a lot of the time, I actually enjoy having a houseful of boys! When I was younger and dreaming about my future family, I always had at least 4 or 5 little boys running around (didn’t I warn you I was a little strange sometimes? LOL) growing into big, brave men and I’m so grateful that I got my wish! I suppose in the grand scheme of things, I’m just starting out as a mommy of boys, but still enjoy just about every minute of it. 🙂

That’s about it for me! See ya ’round the hop!!

About beyondmartha

Wife to one, mommy to many, daughter, sister, friend, homemaker, daughter to the King. That's me.

Posted on July 28, 2011, in Mothering. Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. Hey – saw your comment on my blog – you are so sweet!!! Thought I’d pop over and peek at your “little monkeys” – gosh, they are so cute! And oh heavens – TWO sets of twins…heaven bless your sweet head, girl! We seem to have a lot in common – guitar, similar book loves, same heart to have tons of little warriors running around (yup – I’m crazy like that, too!) – I’ll definitely be visiting in the future! Have a great night and enjoy that sushi!

  2. OH MY FOUR !! What fun !! I love “is the something” … only in the mind of a boy, huh ??

    #BMBH

  3. Sister you have me beat by a mile!!!! I am impressed, you are so blessed beyond measure. Thank you for inviting us to your blog and your life.

  4. Hello from another MOB & a fellow twin Mum. You have truly been blessed with 2 sets of twins & 4 gorgeous ‘little monkeys’ (I call my 2 monkeys as well as monsters). Nice to meet you & if you don’t mind, I might drop by again soon. 🙂

  5. What an adorable family!! Loved “meeting” you!! Happy Hopping!!
    http://www.a-steady-rain.com
    http://www.twenty6blog.com

  6. Oooo, I’m gonna learn a lot from you, girl! I’m only on my third child, and I’m a fairly new SAHM, so I need all the help I can get LOL! I see our kids like some of the same books–our DD (5 yrs) absolutely loved the Hobbit, too.
    Stoppin’ by from the hop, and hope you drop by sometime, too.

  7. You have precious boys! Good to meet you, I am swinging by from the The First Annual Boy Mom Blog Hop

  8. I love that you wrote this late at night and loopy on exhaustion because it made me laugh. 🙂 I’m thrilled to have found your blog via the MOB hop and look forward to reading more and getting to know you!

  9. I’ve got 4 boys too, thought not quite so close in age! Look forward to reading more!

  10. Oh my word, TWO SETS of twins?! And four of them boys… my hat is off to you! (Two of ours are 6 mos. apart… hehe figure that one out!) Enjoy them, these are “the good old days”. I SO miss it when our kids were all small like that! Thanks for stopping by my blog this morning. It’s nice to meet you!

  11. Two sets of twins! sheesh, and I thought I was brave! Way to go, you way cool mom. I like having boys around too. I’ve got six, me being the sole source of estrogen at the house. Come visit us at Layers of Learning.

  12. You sound like such a fun mom!! Two sets of twins!! Wow!! 🙂 I love your sense of humor, and I do believe I’ll be back!! Please stop by my blog, too! http://christis-blahblahblog.blogspot.com/2011/07/boy-mom-blog-hop.html

  13. Your boys are adorable!

    ✿LaToya
    Christian Momma

  14. 4 boys! 🙂 so fun!!!! 🙂 Love it! 🙂 What a house full of love you have! 🙂
    I am hopping over from MOB! 🙂

  15. I am from the hop and I have 4 boys too! It is an adventure everyday! 🙂

  16. Stopping by from MOB Society, love your site and love this blog hop! looking forward to getting to know you, come visit me!

    The Petunia,
    http://petuniasescape.blogspot.com/2011/07/just-who-is-petunia-you-might-ask.html

  17. So nice to “meet” you and your boys. Why does Jude like Where the Wild Things Are? Maybe I should read it to my second son who is also a spitfire. Maybe it’s a spitfire book…I just don’t personally care for it. idk LOL

  18. Wow your household sounds like a lot of fun. I’m visiting from the MOB society.

  19. love how this blog hop makes me feel so comfortable. love the community of other moms with LOTS of boys. sometimes with all the people staring and friends commenting, i begin to wonder, “are we crazy?”. nice to hear other moms with lots of kiddos loving their lot and enjoying the chaos. thanks desi!

  20. Just hopping by from the MOB society bloghop! Love all the great books your boys love! I’m a huge reading fan! I need to start reading longer books to my soon to be 4 year old!

Leave a Reply

