In the spirit of the last few posts, where I discuss breaking ‘all’ the rules, I’m going to break another one and tell you this:

Exactly one week ago, I turned 26 years old. 

I’m not exactly sure yet how I feel about being more than 1/4 century old but I’ve been thinking about it, in the midst of more than chaotic back-to-homeschool shopping and adjusting to my husband being on second shift…

Yep… little ole me… twenty-six years old.

Yes, I'm the dork wondering around Nashville with two pairs of glasses on her silly head. Don't judge... you know you'd do it too! LOL

ahhhh…

Aren’t we supposed to have it all together by now? Like, at least have an inkling of what’s going on in the world? The only great revelation that being on the outside of my mid-twenties has been that I really don’t know much of anything yet.

Oh sure, I have a seemingly never-ending supply of trivia. (Did you know that Hugo Boss got his ‘big break’ manufacturing uniforms for Nazi Germany? And that in 2001, Siemens, after collaborating with the Nazis in the ’30s and ’40s, tried to patent a line of gas ovens called  Zyklon- Zyklon B, of course, being the gas used in the Nazi gas chambers- and claimed complete ignorance about the connection of the word ‘Zyklon’? Oh, and some of that trivia has absolutely nothing to do with dictators, wars, the Bible, movies, Jewish culture, archaeology or anthropology… although those are my favorite subjects LOL)

Yeah…whatever, I can speak (and read, where appropriate) conversationally in English, Spanish, German, French, Pidgen, Italian, and S.E.E. I’ve not mastered any of those languages and I absolutely stink at trying to put my words on paper in them (English included!)…

Big deal that I actually know who the French King of Rome (Napoleon’s son, Napoléon François Joseph Charles Bonaparte, Duke of Reichstadt) was, or can name the man who stranded Ben Franklin in England the first time, (Sir William Kieth, the deadbeat Govenor of Pennsylvania) or have actually read most of the ‘classic’ literature on those popular readings lists. Have you ever seen how much literature that’s been written, or how many names deserve to be known? (I haven’t… I just know it’s A LOT!)

Don’t think I’m just either being a downer, bragging, or on the edge of some great philosophy… as we say down here “Don’t accuse me of thinking… I ain’t done no such thing!”

I’m just rambling so bear with me. 🙂

I remember, when I was 16 years old (kind of ironic that that’s now exactly TEN years ago, huh?), having a conversation with my then-boyfriend about what we planned to do after high school. It went something like this:

Him: Well, I’m working now to learn this trade, so I can make a career out of it. What good is your job doing you?

(Which, btw, was a kind of a jerk thing to say considering that I was working full time for a construction company and what I learned then has done me quite a bit of good as an adult.)

Me: I’m working so I can learn. Even if i grow up to be a housewife and mother, I don’t ever want to stop learning.

Him: And how are you gonna afford that, huh?

Me: Well, working as hard as I did today, I think I’ll be able to manage.

Him: So today’s gonna pay for you to learn the rest of your life?

(Yeah… that’s one of several good reasons I married my husband and not him… lol) 

But it’s a good point isn’t it? Most people, when they’re young, assume that you study your booty off for 13-21 years (kindergarten+school years+8 years of college if you get a doctorate) and then you’re over with it. Done. You get on with life.

But after high school and college the first thing I realized was that there will always be something I don’t know, a language I can’t speak, a book I haven’t read, an activity I have no experience in, and a person who does all of the above better than me that I need to learn from.

It’s pretty exciting, isn’t it? 

And I think God does it that way for a reason. I mean, people are really smart capable of acts of brilliance but even Einstein, arguably one of the most brilliant men in history, even said, Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking. so even he realized that we can’t ever stop learning. The bible says “When wisdom enters your heart, and knowledge is pleasant to your soul, Discretion will preserve you; Understanding will keep you, ” (Proverbs 2:10, 11)

That’s why, I think, there is such a prevalence of this same type of reflection that I’m giving you today among not only bloggers, but people in general. We’re supposed to keep searching, keep learning, keep gaining wisdom as we age and our birthday’s are the best time of the year to realize we aren’t getting any younger.

But we’re also supposed to keep ourselves honest in our search for knowledge, experience, and wisdom… When we were first made, we were near to God, we walked and talked with him daily (and I mean, literally, not figuratively), then we sinned and we were separated from God (Isaiah 59:2 But your sinful acts have alienated you from your God; your sins have caused him to reject you and not listen to your prayers.).

We spent thousands of years (or in my case, *ACK* decades!) searching for knowledge and truth, but our very nature won’t let us recognize what is blatantly obvious, what holds us back from knowledge and understanding:

The fear of the LORD is the beginning of knowledge, but fools despise wisdom and discipline. – Proverbs 1:7

and

Oh, the depth of the riches both of the wisdom and knowledge of God! How unsearchableare His judgments and His ways past finding out!  -Romans 11:33

That’s the most exciting bit of information I’ve learned yet –no matter how much we know, how smart we are, are how wise people think we are, we have not even begun to tap into the ‘depths of riches’. As for me, I intend to keep learning until I find out… join me?

About beyondmartha

Wife to one, mommy to many, daughter, sister, friend, homemaker, daughter to the King. That's me.

Posted on July 29, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love learning too! I have been learning about the civil war, both in my Tennessee History class and on my own. Plus I’ve been teaching my stepdaughter about the states, so I’ve been learning about how they were shaped, which for the southern states had a lot to do with the civil war. I love it.

  2. I love learning! I didn’t finish college, but I’ve never stopped learning and don’t intend to quit any time soon. That’s part of why I love homeschooling so much – there’s always so much more to learn!

    Oh to be 26 again…. *sigh* LOL I’ve been married almost that many years. 😉

Leave a Reply

