A Blog About a Blog, Part 3

The Point.

Yeah. I do have one. 🙂

This whole thing grew out of my recent blog overhaul (What do you think, btw?) when, in the search for some good tutorials, I came across all this mess about what constitutes a good blog, and what will keep one down forever.

I spent a little bit of time thinking about it, weighing my options, and decided that I would much rather have a little slice of the internet dedicated to me, where I don’t have to conform to anyone else’s ideal of what’s good and what stinks.

I really am incredibly in awe that anyone would want to read what I write (and believe me, I do go and read your blogs back (or check out your facebook/twitter/etc whatever you post as your ‘get back to me’ link down there)… just with the hectic way our house tends to operate, especially with the hub’s new job, I don’t always get to comment back. But I do go and read them!) and in some weird way, I felt as though I would be failing you if I decided to conform to ‘good blog standards’ and make you did your way through google ads and popups and all that nonsense just to read what you came here for so that I could make a little bit of pocket money.

So I won’t do it. 🙂 If I never make a penny off of this blog that I’ve ended up devoting many hours to… oh well. I still enjoy the writing and the communication. But I did decide to make a few adjustments to the way that I blog and the frequency, so here’s what I decided to say to all of my darling readers:

I can’t promise that I will stop my constant meme’s. Sorry ’bout that. I think they are way too much fun. But I will promise that they will no longer be the only thing that gets posted for weeks on end. Does that work for you?

I can’t promise that I will stick to a niche. I know it won’t happen. I will still post about homeschooling (because it consumes a good portion of every one of my days), and being a mom to many (because it consumes all of my days), and the things that make us ‘odd’ (like celebrating Passover), but I am not going to stifle the need I have to communicate, however vicariously, when my topics aren’t ‘good topics’. Sorry, love. You may end up with recipes, random tidbits about what happens during the day, tutorials, me being sad, me being happy, me being incredibly exhausted, or me just being silly but I promise, you’ll get the real me. And with my hunny’s job, I have several free hours every night where I can write, so you’ll get a lot more of me too. 🙂

And lastly, for today anyway, I promise you that I won’t be on here too much. I firmly believe that you have to live life to write about it, and I’m gonna do quite a bit more of that too.

Thank you again to all of you who have been reading the confoundment that is my blog, I hope you stick around a while longer! And for those of you who are new… I spent like five hours figuring out how to put those darn buttons up there at the top right of the home page for a reason… subscribe, hit me up on Twitter or Facebook, and join me for a bit more of… well… Days with Desi!

*muah!*

About beyondmartha

Wife to one, mommy to many, daughter, sister, friend, homemaker, daughter to the King. That's me.

Posted on July 29, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

