My Homeschool Mother’s Journal #9

The Homeschool Mother's Journal

In my life this week…

I have really felt like I’ve been running around in circles. That seems to happen a lot, doesn’t it? We’ve been adjusting to Daddy working 2nd shift, which is no easy thing to do!

Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…

We’re expecting my dad and step-mom up from Georgia this weekend (on last minute notice… OH! The Martha in me is wanting to absolutely go insane!!) Also, we got to go over to Aunt B’s and swim yesterday!

My favorite thing this week was…

This afternoon… as sad as that is. I, well the Martha in me, was having a major breakdown trying to get ready for out of town company and my husband missed some overtime to stay home and help me get my head on straight and get the children organized. I know it’s awful that he would have to do that… but the truth is, he didn’t have to. I even told him to go to work. But then he said to me, “Honey, it doesn’t matter what else I’m doing, if you need me that’s always my first priority, and I know you need me right now whether you’ll admit it or not.” (He wasn’t late to work at the regular time, he just missed about 30 minutes of overtime.) Isn’t he the best?!?

I’m cooking…

I’m making black beans and rice with cornbread for supper. (Well, Regan is making the cornbread… it’s her current specialty!) It’s a rare food around here and we’re making it b/c we know that Pepaw loves it!

I’m grateful for…

My phone ringing off the hook. I’ve really needed the company this week!

A photo, video, link, or quote to share…

A couple of pictures from a trip to Shiloh earlier this week! No… the kids weren’t in swim suits: they were just wanting to swim after a very long, very tedious trip into town so I let them. 🙂

Everyone jump on over to The Homeschool Chick’s page and link up with’s going on in your homeschool summer!

Shalom!

 

About beyondmartha

Wife to one, mommy to many, daughter, sister, friend, homemaker, daughter to the King. That's me.

Posted on July 29, 2011, in Homeschooling, Mothering. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I love your blog and enjoyed reading about your week. I can so relate to the “Martha” coming out with company coming. Hope your visit goes well. Blessings to you!

  2. Sometimes I feel bad for not being “Martha” enough… but I’m not sure if I need to just be okay with it, or even happy about it.

    And hey! I made beans & cornbread today, too. Also, cupcakes.

  3. Your husband sounds like a good man! I hope your time with family goes well this weekend.

  4. When will you post again ? Been looking forward to this !

Leave a Reply

