Mission: Quiet

 

 

 

 

Six children. Two Dogs. Only one Mom. It gets loud around here.

Not regular loud, but L.O.U.D loud.

And I often find myself getting even louder just to be heard over the general roar. And I speak loud quickly, trying to get my general point across without always thinking through the words that I’m saying before I say it. So the children get louder trying to get their points across with one another, acting just like Mommy. I cringe every time I hear it.

Yeah, it’s not a good thing…

I am not a loud person by nature. I was raised with just my mom and myself in the house, usually with no TV blaring and no radio blasting. In the country.

It was quiet. Q.U.I.E.T quiet.

But I loved it.

So I get louder trying to force the quiet. (Tip- that doesn’t work!) 

Do you see a man hasty in his words?

There is more hope for a fool than for him.

(Proverbs 29:20)

I so often say, “OUCH!” when I read through Proverbs. I can’t help it- I fall short regularly and it’s painful to look your failings in the face, especially when they were written by a man a couple thousand years ago!

So my mission has become, from now until it becomes a habit, to speak slowly, carefully, and with purpose, quietly.

I will do my utmost to not shout, to speak only after I think, and to speak with purpose.

And either my family will follow suit, or I’ll just have lower blood pressure. (Both equally good results!) But either way, I want there to be more hope for me than for a fool!

She opens her mouth with wisdom,

And on her tongue is the law of kindness.

(Proverbs 31:26)

 

 

 

About beyondmartha

Wife to one, mommy to many, daughter, sister, friend, homemaker, daughter to the King. That's me.

Posted on October 25, 2011, in Mothering. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

