Our Pantry/ Family Closet

I’ve had a pantry/family closet for exactly 6 weeks. I’m not an ‘expert’ but I can tell you this: I love it! It was worth every penny of the $63 I spent converting our old nursery.

 

To me, the reasoning was simple:

1- There is SO much laundry around here that I spent twice as much time ironing, folding, and putting away as I did washing and drying it. That was time wasted that I could have been playing with my kids, teaching them, catching up with friends, hanging out with my husband, or catching up on other chores that it seemed ridiculous NOT to have one.

2- When that laundry, that I spent SO much time tending to was left alone, invariably the children would have a friend over who would just have to play dress-up or princesses or something and end up dragging everything out of the drawer to find the three tiered petty-coat (for example). Even if I put said item on the top of the drawer, they would just have to have something that was at the bottom and there went all my nice, clean clothes all over the floor. not good. That made it twice as much as twice as much time as I spend now on laundry upkeep.

3- We typically eat home-made, made-from-scratch, organic food. Let me tell you something. If you eat home-made biscuits every morning, and bake bread every afternoon, just the flour alone is going to take up A LOT of space– at least if you don’t want to be traveling to the grocery store every two or three days. I was having to buy 15 pounds of flour at a time (the amount I could fit into my cabinets) and having to make two trips to the store a week, just for FLOUR. Seriously? Definitely worth $63 in gas money saved, if nothing else!

4- I like to cook. And with six children under seven years old, there’s no telling a week or month in advance exactly what I’ll feel like cooking on a given day. It’s much more cost effective, nerve-soothing, not to mention, healthier to be able to keep a decent supply of ingredients and healthy ‘quick-fixes’ on hand than it is to just give in and order pizza or make a stop at McDonald’s because I’m too worn out to cook what I had planned. (A crockpot comes in handy in these situations too, but we’ll get into that another time šŸ™‚ )

 

I could go on and on, but I’ll spare you. šŸ™‚ Needless to say: I ā¤ my pantry!

 

if you’re interested in making your own pantry or family closet, then google either term. You’ll find tons of advice and examples, or just hang tight, because tomorrow I am going to go into a little bit more detail about mine! (I’m just out of time today because I need to go USE that pantry to make supper! LOL)

About beyondmartha

Wife to one, mommy to many, daughter, sister, friend, homemaker, daughter to the King. That's me.

Posted on March 6, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I am returning your visit to my blog last week, thanks for stopping by. I just wanted to let you know that at one point in my life I had 6 children aged 7 and under as well šŸ™‚ All singletons šŸ™‚ Life does get easier LOL! I now have 10 aged 19m to 16 with #11 on the way.

Leave a comment